His Eye is on the Sparrow…

This first story is from May 10, 2012

As I was cooking dinner tonight my dogs starting barking like crazy at the front door, I opened the door and saw a mourning dove lying on the ground beside my car. My husband got the dogs locked up and brought me my garden gloves. When I picked up the bird, I could tell it was severely injured, its eyes kept opening and closing, its breathing was labored. My heart ached to help it, my mind was racing. How was it injured? What part of it was broken? Could I save it? Should I put it out of its misery? I suddenly recalled the song, “His eye is on the Sparrow”…so I looked to the heavens and prayed, “Dear Father, in the name of Jesus, heal this creature, but if not, then in the name of Jesus don’t let it suffer anymore”. I had barely spoken the last word as I watched the bird peacefully, close its eyes, stop struggling, and stop breathing. I stroked its breast, sad for the loss, and yet, comforted knowing it wasn’t hurting any longer.

I went back to cooking dinner, and let a tear or two flow. It was only later that I realized the lesson my dear Lord had taught me, another lesson in trusting Him. “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, says the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8,9 Our heavenly Father knows what is best for all his creation, whether it’s a bird or me…I can always trust Him.

Two weeks ago…Once again, I was standing at the stove cooking dinner. I heard a motorcycle go roaring past our house, and could tell from the sound that it was going incredibly fast. Seconds later I heard the horribly loud crash as he failed to stop at the intersection. I ran from the house and to the corner, my heart pounding as I saw what was left of the motorcycle, a million pieces. People were running from every direction of the neighborhood, some were screaming, many on their phones calling 911, some describing what they had just seen. I stood on the sidewalk and looked at the man lying in the street, the pool of blood spreading fast around his head. Suddenly, it seemed that someone pushed the mute button in my head, and all I heard was a quiet voice saying, “I wouldn’t want to die alone”. I felt like I was moving in slow motion as I went and knelt next to him in the street, and placed my hand on his shoulder, “I’m here with you, you’re not alone”, I said.  I began to pray, “Lord, please heal this man, please raise him up…”, but as I was praying the words suddenly changed to, ” Please be with him Lord, please let him be comforted by you, take him Lord”.

Now, you have to understand, that in my heart I wanted to keep asking God to save him, but it was as if my mouth was forming its own prayer. I kept praying as the sound of sirens filled the air, but I knew in my heart that there was nothing the paramedics could do now.  I looked down at the man’s  face and watched him take his last breath, blood pouring from his mouth, and I felt him “leave”, and felt someone standing just behind me, but when I looked there was no one there. I heard the sirens wailing in the distance and saw the ambulance coming down the street, but I knew there was nothing they could do now. I rejoined my husband on the sidewalk and turned away as the paramedics began pumping on the man’s chest. I walked slowly back to my house, shaking and crying. When I got to the house, I went and sat on my bed, trying to grasp what I had just witnessed, it all felt like a horrible dream, and yet, there was a comfort in what I had felt there too. It was then that I noticed my bare knees and feet.  I had left the house so quickly I hadn’t taken time to put shoes on, and was wearing only shorts. The street had been littered with broken glass and metal everywhere, but as I felt my knees and looked at my feet, there wasn’t even a speck of dirt on them. Take what you will from that part of the story, but God uses us in whatever way he sees fit, if we are willing.

I hear people ask all the time why God let’s these things happen to people. You see, God gave us free will, and sometimes our decisions decide our fate, it’s not God. As for the bird, well, that’s just the way of nature. I don’t know what happened to the dove, but God knows, He saw it all. I just know that God was there, for that bird, for that man, and if we let Him…He is here for us every day, in every situation, in every decision, if we only choose to let him be present.

His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me….Two different stories, but for me, the same lesson. Trust.

©Kim Hood 2013

One comment on “His Eye is on the Sparrow…

  1. Pingback: The One in Which Einstein, Sparrows, and Blood Have Something in Common | Numbering the Stars, and Other Impossibilities

Share Your Thoughts and Love!

