“God, Can I Have a Puppy?”

I have great faith in God, and I turn to Him for guidance constantly, for the small and large decisions in my life. I’ve learned that His guidance leads me right every time, where my decision making ability is somewhat suspect. As humans we tend to make so many decisions too quickly, or from our hearts and not our heads, or just from our ego based flesh. We end up in a mess, and then end up praying for a way out of the mess we made.

In December of 2010 my husband and I were living in an extended stay motel. We had gone through some really tough times in the few years preceding, including being homeless and separating for a time. All of those stories will come at another time. This post is about our little dog, Cody, and how he came to be with us.

I was so relieved to finally have a roof over our heads again, and was looking forward to Christmas.  I had “made” a Christmas tree on the wall of our motel room, using strings of lights, and fake pine garlands from the dollar store. I thought it was the prettiest thing ever. Our money troubles were far from over, but somehow, I got it in my head that I wanted a puppy. I knew that it made no sense in our current situation, but I’m stubborn, and December is always a rough month for me. My 50th birthday had just passed on the 13th with barely a celebration, and the dates of Mom’s and Dad’s deaths both fall in December too. I wanted something just for the sake of having it, and I decided that what I wanted most was a puppy.

I searched the ads every day for “free” puppies to no avail, and we couldn’t afford the $50 for adopting from our local shelter. I finally found an ad that had puppies for $20, and I got excited. They were listed as Chihuahua/Yorkie mix pups, and I fell in love with the pics right away! After a few emails were exchanged, a decision was made to drive down to Jacksonville to pick him up on Christmas Eve day. My husband is the spontaneous spender in our family, and I the penny-pinching financial “adviser”. So, here it was, Christmas Eve morning, and I was still debating our decision to bring this little guy into our, not so stable life. I stepped out to the balcony, the sun warming my face, the sky as blue as could be, and I started just praising God. I thanked him for all He had brought us through, and just felt the songs of praise welling up in me. Then I prayed and asked for a sign…”God is this the right thing to do?” I was so incredibly grateful for everything already, that I felt a bit selfish asking for even one more thing…but, when I looked up,  this is what I saw.

002

A Musical Note! Now, you might ask how is that a sign that I should get a puppy? But, I knew it was God’s way of telling me that it was time to sing, a time to feel joy, and that I could enjoy this gift without guilt.  We went and got him that day. I love him so much, and he has brought so much joy into our lives, even through the trials that were to come. I am so blessed and grateful every day, that my Father in heaven gave me a puppy for Christmas.

This is Cody on that Christmas Eve. He was so tiny! That is a tennis ball in front of him to give an idea of his size. He will be 3 years old on the 6th of this month, and I plan a post full of pics showing his growing up with us.

135892_175958419105733_4116590_o

78186_176012862433622_252153_o

78186_176012865766955_8347905_o

132684_175952775772964_1891268_o

He was just as happy to have us, as we were to have him. He is such a sweet boy. Thank you Lord, for my Christmas gift, and your never-ending love and guidance!

3 comments on ““God, Can I Have a Puppy?”

Share Your Thoughts and Love!

