Wanderlust Sated…at least for now!

I have never stayed in one place for very long. Whether it was the years my father was in the military, or part of my gene pool, wanderlust has always had a hold on me. I  have moved so often, that when I “settled” here 6 years ago, and spoke with my son about my love for the place, his only question was, “Mom, did you unpack your backpack?”, and he was shocked to find that I had indeed unpacked. Much has happened since discovering Brunswick, I have lived in a motel, condo, tent, motel, and finally this little shot-gun house by the tracks, which we have lived in for over 2 years now.

There are so many things I love about living here. The downtown is so quaint, the old buildings still in service, such as the town hall. The amazing Ritz Theater with its iconic, original sign. I love that it is a port city, and I only have a 10 minute drive to the beach when the mood strikes. On the other side of “quaint” is that living here is also convenient. Every imaginable store, from the small downtown shops, to mega stores open 24 hours, and everything in between, means never feeling “stuck” when you need something. I drive downtown to pay my utility bills, no mailing or internet required. It’s a wonderful mix of a small town, and a big city that never feels like a city.

I love that I can walk into the bank, the library, the local corner store…or almost anywhere, and run into someone who knows my name. That may seem silly, but for someone who lived so long out of her suitcase, that kind of familiarity is touching, and makes me want to stay all the more. So today, I thought I would just share some of my pictures of my “new” hometown…a town that has made me want to stay. All of the following photos were taken five minutes from my house, and while walking around town.  All of my photos in Sunrises/Sunsets, Clouds/Skies, and most of my galleries are also taken here in Brunswick.

12 comments on “Wanderlust Sated…at least for now!

  1. Incredible sunsets. Wow. I like how you format your pictures. What program do you use? I can only get mine to do limited placement, and sometimes the placement is awkward, but I don’t know how to change it. I like the collage effect.

    Like

    • I use the “standard” format for the post, then I create a new gallery for the post, set as “tiled mosaic”, sometimes setting a featured image, sometimes not.

      Like

Share Your Thoughts and Love!

