The Benefits of Being Poor at Christmas Time

I had to go out earlier to run a couple of errands, hit the atm, gas up the car, and pick up a few things at the quickie mart. Thank goodness I don’t have to be out there much! Wow, it is dangerous! I almost got hit twice just trying to navigate through a parking lot.

With as much as I sometimes envy those who are able to buy presents, and decorate their homes so beautifully at this time of year, I have to admit, I’m glad that poverty gives me the freedom to stay home. I am not rushed. I don’t have a “to do” list, except for the everyday things. I am only concerned with the basic needs of my little family.  I did put up a small little tree in my bedroom, my haven, but I didn’t string lights around the house as I normally would. I thought first about the electric  bill, and that it’s just me and the dogs most of the time now with hubby on the road, and I thought having to take it all down in January. I’m good with my little tree. I can celebrate my Savior’s birth, and focus on the reason for the season.

I can curl up with my pups and watch endless DVDs of Christmas shows, listen to all the holiday music on the radio, and spend the time being grateful for all I have. I have a warm house, enough food, and time to just relax. You can’t buy relaxation, and from what I just witnessed “out there”, I am blessed to have a lack of “extra” funds. I don’t have many “wants”, and the few needs I have will be met as the Lord promises.

So on this warm, rainy, Georgia night, while the world outside goes a little nuts trying to find that special gift, I’m thinking…I have a pretty good deal right here, and that in itself is a gift.

Christmas 2013

41 comments on “The Benefits of Being Poor at Christmas Time

  1. Well, I grew up in Latvia, now Europe, but those times it was still part of the USSR. Christmas was not allowed at all. We still celebrated it, however, there was always a tradition to make and create gifts, and they were always received with appreciation. What pleasure is to receive something completely useless anyway when the gift is just for the sake of making a gift? I learned very early in my life that I could create lots and lots of nice things (like sewing them, painting them, I mean re-painted also furniture and even re-purposing some stuff. The limit to that is not money, the limit is only imagination.
    Besides, you had a beautiful tree. Coziness and festivity come from our own perception. Any celebration can be boring when the most important parts are missing: genuine love and mutual appreciation and gratefulness.

    Like

      • The addict never thinks it’s their problem… They think it’s because of this I do that. They do not grasp the concept of cause and effect… You are spiritually awake and you get it… Bravo!

        Like

      • I am a former addict..now I control substance. I want nothing and no one to control me. I am still learning to be “awake”, but it comes to me more each day. Controlling my thoughts has been the biggest challenge, and the greatest discovery about life.

        Like

      • Good! See once you are awake spiritually you won’t go back. The Zen Masters call it a moment of Satori. You awoke and realized, what the heck is up with me”. I sense true goodness in you… It’s a struggle to regain the path but you will now not be mislead.

        Like

      • So true.. I see goodness in you. You have overcome what someday will be a minor bump in the road.. Right now it’s pretty bumpy but time heals all wounds. Do you have the same pair of shoes you had 30 years ago. I doubt it.. Back then it was the best pair of shoes.. Now they are long gone and a memory.. Now is what matters.

        Like

      • Well good and that bear gives you comfort… I wrote a while back how you should have compassion for your suffering.. Those are deep words.. Compassion for your suffering. Go easy on yourself

        Like

      • I’m 56. Kim… Have compassion on your suffering. Do only things that make you feel whole. Shattered is no fun. You can contact me anytime. That’s what’s cool about this site. You got it! That’s the biggest step is getting it.

        Like

      • This site has been such a blessing in curing my loneliness…it’s good to feel connected. Yes, I have felt shattered for too long…now it is time to smile, laugh and live.

        Like

      • Shattered is miserable.. Shattered is lonely.. Sometimes the spiritual path is an alone path but not a lonely one. I see goodness in you.. See it in yourself.

        Like

      • Good! I will light a morning candle and send you white healing light… At around 930 your team. Accept it. Light a candle at a set time and with that candle flame remember you are part of the divine.. god… Whatever you want to call it… That way you will regain the inner self eternal flame…

        Like

      • One thought for you dear Kim. Loneliness is a symptom of being shattered. You are loved and blessed by the cosmic consciousness. Yes it was a tough lesson you agreed to prior to birth but what is the one word summation if you had to describe the lesson you learned.. And it’s not addiction… Self love?

        Like

      • By the way.. Poor is relative.. I’ve been to India.. A family of four living in a concrete culvert waiting to be set in the ground… Now that’s poor. God will always give you what you need. Always.

        Like

      • I know this much, thank you! Many days I imagine what it would be like for a person from the poorest of countries to walk into my little house…it would seem a mansion to them. I imagine them seeing a machine to wash clothes, and a box that keeps food cold, and a water faucet for fresh clean water to drink..I get perspective.

        Like

      • It’s a glass half full or half empty thinking. Kim I see goodness see it in yourself. Look in the mirror and say I like me.. Not the physical you but the spiritual you..

        Like

      • I’m 56. I had my own torments.. I’m on a path to becoming whole and one with God.. It’s a path but my path is no better than yours or the guy at the counter of the gas station.

        Like

  2. Enjoy the warm, rainy Georgia night, Kim. Karen and I just got back from a small birthday celebration and the Syracuse snow is piling up and slippery. Home safe and sound, early, the way I like it now.

    Like

    • Yes..I sometimes feel badly about not giving to my grandchildren, but they get quite a bit, and when they are older they will understand. I won’t think of that tonight though…I’m at peace, and will remain here. 🙂

      Like

Share Your Thoughts and Love!

