Cold in South Georgia!

Yes, I know in comparison to other areas of the country we are not “cold”. However, if you factor in that we rarely get down to freezing in my area of Georgia, and that my house has no central heating and no insulation…it is a big deal. I was awake for a good part of last night worrying about the pipes freezing and making an exit plan should we lose the electric and heat.

The only option I would have would be to put the dogs and fish in the car with me and drive around to keep warm. Praise God that didn’t happen, and we only have one more night with these temps. I will pray over my house again today and tonight.

It is only 33 here today, but is supposed to be back in the 70s by the weekend. Crazy.

I pray everyone is staying safe and warm….many warm hugs! Love you!

Shrimp Boat

Shrimp Boat

17 comments on “Cold in South Georgia!

  1. Glad your area’s bout with cold is almost over. Savannah and Brunswick are not places where I’d enjoy winter chill. I’d love them in spring and fall,though.
    For a real idea of winter, though, check out the antipodal South Georgia- the British-owned island off the coast of Argentina. 🙂

    Like

  2. I hope you’ve made it through the freeze. I saw on the Bing weather site that those of us in the south are going to be bombarded with rain this next week and then cold again. I’ll be think about you.

    Like

  3. Sounds like here except I’ve got snow on the ground. It got above freezing for an hour or so today. That’s the first time since late Monday night. I am looking forward to tomorrow. The roads are supposed to warm up and melt off the ice. Stay warm and keep that faucet dripping. hugs

    Like

      • Luckily our electric bill is on a “flat rate” plan right now or I would be freakin’…the water bill however will be whatever we used running the dang faucets. Oh well, at least we are done for now.

        Like

      • Thank God it’s done for now! I hope it’s done for the season. I’ve had enough cold for one winter. 🙂 I am enjoying the harsh, high contrast light. It’s make for good black and white photography. At least what I like.
        I know about level billing. Good idea especially this year.
        Stay warm
        Hugs

        Like

  4. Cold is indeed relative, Kim. No furnace, no insulation, freezing temperatures equals great worry in your shoes, my friend. Keep the doggies, fish, pipes and yourself warm this one more night the best you can.

    Like

    • It’s all good Mark…as long as the electric is on, and I’m sure we would survive if, God forbid, it did go out. We have a “motel style” Heater/Ac in the dining room and the rest of the house is kept warm with space heaters. I tried to go out and buy another heater yesterday, but there were none to be found! We are fine though!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts and Love!

