Sick? Broke? Go Home!

I started my busy Monday with a trip to my med doc at 10:30, which took way longer than it should have, of course. I then went and paid the electric bill, the water bill, and my car insurance. I came home long enough to change my clothes for my 2pm appointment with my primary care doc, a follow-up appointment after being in the ER. I walk into his office and am informed that if I don’t give them at least $100 today I can not see him. Really? I have less than $200 left for the week and haven’t bought food yet. (Sorry folks, I’m hooked on that eating thing). I offered to pay them $40 this week and they still said “No”. Hmm I guess if you are poor and sick, you just stay sick. Who cares right? And let’s not even get into the “You need to sign up for medical insurance on Healthcare.gov?” I can’t afford that either. Poverty sucks. I told hubby that if I die in the next week or two to just sue the hell out of them and please write on my tombstone, “I told them I was sick!”

Oh well…it is beautiful today, 80 degrees, sunny and breezy. I got all the bills paid for another month, and today..I feel okay. I won’t let anything steal my bliss…Time for some meditation…or a nap!

P.S. I forgot the BEST part! The receptionist told me that they weren’t even going to charge me for a “no show”! Isn’t that sweet of them?

Beautiful Skies and Warmth!

Beautiful Skies and Warmth!

17 comments on “Sick? Broke? Go Home!

  1. I’m so glad that you are feeling so much better, that you got to pay some bills and that it is nice and warm now. I am so sorry about your medical bills, stupid health insurance companies, my wish for our country is that some day we get to have Medicare for all. Health care is a right, not a privilege is my opinion. Hugs to you!

    Like

  2. I’m so sorry this happened to you. I blame our governor who has refused to expand Medicaid. If he had accepted the federal funds and expanded the program, you would be eligible for Medicaid. I have another friend in the same boat. (I once swore I would stay away from political statements while blogging or commenting, but I can’t help it. Nathan Deal needs to be voted out. I’m voting for Jason Carter for governor.)

    Like

    • I avoid political rants also, but I totally agree with you on this one! I can’t believe that with the poverty in this state that medicaid didn’t get expanded. Thanks hon…hugs

      Like

  3. I bet if the doctor knew what the office staff was doing concerning patients who are ill and right there and can’t settle up a certain amount on demand, she or he would be pissed, Kim.

    Like

    • You are so right Mark…My doctor is amazing and he hates how the front office handles patients sometimes. They once refused me my medication because I couldn’t afford to go see him…he freaked out when I told him! Not much he can do seeing as they are handled by SE Ga. Healthcare…it’s not right.

      Like

  4. The Dalai Lama once said that sleep was the best meditation – so when all else fails, Nap 😉 In all seriousness, though, I hope that your situation improves soon. Peace . . .

    Like

    • Thanks hon..it’s all good. If I was meant to go see the doctor the money would have been there. I believe in things going exactly as they should. I didn’t want to give them the $40 either lol. Sleep is awesome, and I have been blessed with very good sleep lately. 🙂

      Like

  5. Kim, I am so sorry you aren’t able to see you primary doc. That stinks! Have you tried to get on Medicaid? It certainly is worth a try! Personally, I think you would qualify. God bless you girl! ((Hugs!!))

    Like

Share Your Thoughts and Love!

