Flea Killing Shampoo!

As you know from previous posts, I have been fighting to get rid of fleas on my dogs. The chemically loaded spot on treatments, which I hate using, were not working at all, so I began a hunt for more natural methods.

I began with adding small amounts of garlic to their food, and feeding them brewer’s yeast tablets, both designed to make the dogs smell badly to the fleas. I also steeped a bunch of lemons and put in a spray bottle with water and used this on them too. I’m not sure how well these were working, the internal items taking time to get into the dog’s system, so today I made a shampoo for them.

I took a bottle of Johnson’s Baby shampoo, poured half into a plastic cup and added 6 or 7 drops of pure cedar wood oil. I then filled the tub with part of this and shampooed them with it. Starting at their necks, so the fleas can’t run onto their faces, I then soaped them up good and let it remain on them for at least 5 minutes, avoiding their eyes of course.

I am so pleased! The fleas were dying and dropping off of my dogs! I couldn’t tell as well when bathing Cody, as his fur is black and thick, but with Casey we could see them trying to get off of her and dying on contact! This is so much better than using all those nasty chemicals. Please be sure if you try this that you dilute the Cedar Wood Essential oil..and that it is PURE essential oil, not the stuff you use for scenting your home. I am so relieved to have found this. You can also put a couple of drops onto your dog’s collar or a bandana and let it dry, put back on your dog. The scent does something to the pheromone receptors of the fleas and they won’t bite!

I am one happy dog Mom today!

Waiting for "Daddy"

Waiting for “Daddy”

 

12 comments on “Flea Killing Shampoo!

  1. I discovered that a couple of drops in the bathing water of tea tree oil does the trick, and also seems to prevent skin allergies – which my dog has in abundance.

    Like

    • Thank you Bruce…I have read that also. I believe that many different Essential Oils may be a good deterrent. I was just so happy to see so many dead fleas!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts and Love!

