Homeless Day 16…A Love Letter to My Dogs…

Though I know you will never see this, I must find a way to release all I feel in my heart for you…my sweet dogs.

I don’t know why my feelings of loss and pain for you both come on so strongly at night, maybe it’s because my mind is so focused on trying to survive during the day…though, a moment of the day does not pass without you both in it. I wish there was a way to tell you, to make you understand all that has happened to you. I also wish will all of my heart, that I could have found a way to keep you both with me forever…as I promised you when I brought you home. Mommy’s heart hurts with missing you!

My little Cody…You were so tiny the day we brought you home from the backyard breeders.  It was Christmas Eve. You were covered with fleas. They looked so big on your little body. You gave us so many smiles on the ride home and every day since then. Even your stubbornness is something I will always admire. That last day we had together you were such a sweet boy, kissing Mama’s tears away.

135892_175958419105733_4116590_o

Casey Anne…When I saw you that day in the kennel of the adoption van, I had no doubt that you would come and join our family. You were shaking and timid. I don’t blame you, you had such a rough start in life. I still can’t understand how anyone could have treated you that way. I hope that I taught you that there is love in the world, and that not all humans are bad. I showed you that you can trust, and that you can have food and hugs….always.

Day One in her new home!

Day One in her new home!

You and Cody became the best of friends on that first day, even though he was a bit pushy.

Cody's new friend Casey!

Cody’s new friend Casey!

You are both such amazing babies, and I can only pray every day that we can be together again. But, you see…I don’t have a home right now, not even for me. I know that God knows my heart, and how much I want to come and get you from that cage in the shelter. Every night I dream of them opening that door, and seeing you both run to me and climb on me as we all cry with joy…oh, how I wish I could hold you both right now…I want you here with me, knowing how much I love you and how much I wish that this had not happened to us all. Life isn’t always fair my dear pups, and I hope I gave you enough love while we had time. Be good puppies okay? If I can’t come to get you, I want you to be loved and cared for by some really good family. Casey…show them how you cover your ears when they say you are cute…and Cody, show them how well you sit, and put your blankie in the kennel…Sit nice and no bity…okay guys?

Mommy loves you so much…I hope somehow you know this, and don’t be sad okay? I’m sad enough for all of us. Be happy dogs…someday soon you will go home, you will be outside again, running free, playing and chasing squirrels. I pray it will be with me, but if it is not…just be happy. I love you so much.

"I love them"

258187_215611651807076_7481533_o

I AM SO SORRY!

I will love you forever.

9 comments on “Homeless Day 16…A Love Letter to My Dogs…

  1. Kim,
    This letter broke my heart. I can only imagine how difficult it was for you to walk away from the kennel without your pups. I hope so strongly that they come back to you one day, but know that you did the right and responsible thing to keep them safe, and for you to get back on your feet as quickly as possible.
    You have so much to offer the world with your kindness and your artistic spirit. I know something will come together for you, just keep pushing forward.
    Sara

    Like

  2. There is very little, other than a mother giving up a human baby for adoption, that is as painful as giving up beloved pets, who are such a reliable source of unconditional love. This is beautifully-written, Kim.

    Like

  3. Kim, you did what you felt was the best thing for your babies considering the circumstances. They are being looked after and have food in their bellies. Look for the positives darl. And keep putting one foot in front of the other.

    Like

  4. Hi Kim, you don’t need to say sorry – you are doing really well. Keep going. You have put your dogs in a safe place for a period of time. You have done your very best for them.

    Like

  5. Dearest Kim,

    This is one of the saddest things I’ve read in a very long time. My heart goes out to you and your beautiful dogs. I am deeply saddened by the events that have transpired in your life over the past few months, and I continue to pray for your well-being. You’re a good, caring, and compassionate person, and I believe that you deserve much more than this.

    I hope that you’re remaining as positive as someone can be given the circumstances, and I hope your canines will be OK. I am not in your shoes and do not know what you’re going through, but I am your friend and I know you’ll surmount this obstacle soon enough.

    Best Wishes Always,
    Nigel Nicholas

    Like

Share Your Thoughts and Love!

