Five Months and Light Years Away From Homeless…

Who was that woman in the motel room? The one who felt alone and hopeless, the one who was so scared for her unknown future? Could that have been me? I think it was, but the memory is fading…buried beneath a mound of new life, behind a fog of happiness.

I finished my first week of school with an “A” on my first test, and a new, broader vision of my future. It has been a struggle to settle into the new routine, but even the exhaustion I feel is “good”!

I am loving my class and coming home to do homework every night. I thought that the introductory part of the program would be boring, but I am learning so much every day. I wake each morning excited and happy to have my tea and dress for class. It’s too cool.

I am also starting classes at the end of February to take my GED! Yes, fifty-four years young and finally going to get my high school diploma. With that in hand and my new computer skills, my job prospects will be multiplied a hundred times over. I am also looking into some business courses at the community college.

Did I really just write that? When I first got my housing and started job hunting, all I really wanted was to get back in retail…get just a “regular” job. Now, since starting these new learning programs I am actually thinking I want a career. I want to do something that stimulates me, that makes me as anxious and excited about my work as I have been about going to school. Look out world! No stopping me now!

I’d forgotten how much I loved learning.

I’ve decided I want to become an Administrative Assistant, with added training in Accounting etc. to prepare me for whatever company I may approach for employment. I enjoy typing and organizing, and look forward to learning Word and Excel in my present class.

The future is bright and wide here in “Kimville”…I never dreamed it could be this way.

Peace, Love and Hugs!

IMG_3667

10 comments on “Five Months and Light Years Away From Homeless…

  1. Can I just echo what Mark said?! An inspiring post Kim, which encourages me this morning. Thank you. And thank you Lord for taking such good care of Kim, and all for all your provision, comfort and care. I’m so happy for you. Way to go Kim x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I say thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, all the powers, for allowing this to come together for my friend Kim. Kim, you deserve this opportunity and happiness so much. I am thrilled at the way you are talking advantage of it. Keep up the great work. More big things to come!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you Mark! I am really trying! As you said, I am taking advantage of all the resources that I have been offered. It is tough some days, but so worth it. I feel good about myself for the first time in years…hugs my dear friend!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts and Love!

