What’s Your Golden Time of Day?

clocks

I read a theory once that said, the time of day that a person is born is directly related to their “prime function” time of day. I was born at 8:02 in the evening, and I have never been an early morning person. It’s not that I don’t love a beautiful sunrise, or the peace that is almost palpable before the rest of the world gets stirring, I just do better waking up later in the day. I even like the days when I can manage to get up by 6 A.M. and function well all day, though this rarely happens, and is not built into my internal clock. If I do manage to wake that early I can guarantee you that I will be napping by one in the afternoon, and I’m not talking a “cat nap”, I mean a full on, in bed, sleep for four hours kind of nap.

I am a night owl. It may be that I was born at night, or that I worked second shift for so many years, or just how I am programmed. I am so not a morning person, that when I went into labor with my son at five in the morning, I literally put a pillow between my legs, and went back to sleep until seven. I got to the hospital just in time, he was born at 8:09 that morning. He was an early riser as a child, (to my great dismay), and as an adult he still loves the earliest hours of the morning. My eldest daughter was born at 2:37 in the afternoon, she now works 3-11 at her nursing job. My youngest daughter, was born at 10:32 in the morning, and like me, still likes to wake at that time, though she doesn’t have that option while raising my granddaughter. I’m starting to think that there may be some truth to the aforementioned theory after all.

My ideal sleep and function pattern seems to be, in bed by midnight and up by eight, but this rarely happens. Once my day of errands, housework, animal care, and appointments is done, then I feel free to do my things. I can sit at the computer writing, posting photos, or just playing solitaire, blissfully uninterrupted for hours. This is why many times I look at the clock and realize it’s 4 A.M., and I am still up. There are many evenings around eight when I will mention to hubby how tired I am, “Why don’t you go to bed?” he asks, and I always have to explain that this is my quiet time. Time when no one else is placing any demands on me.

I love the quiet of our neighborhood late at night, the quiet of the house, the quiet in my head. I love the just me time. As a result of my “unusual” hours, I’ve often felt guilty. I mean don’t “normal” people get up early, go to bed early? Why do I feel the need to conform to some set hours, and who set them anyway? I am 52 and I’m pretty sure I can decide my bedtime, and wake at one in the afternoon if that is what I am inclined to do.

What is your prime time of day? I know I am blessed with the freedom to choose to sleep and wake as I please, and a lot of you have jobs or kids that decide what time you have to wake and sleep. But, if you had only yourself to consider, and listened to that internal clock…what would your time be? What time were you born? Does your “best” time of day coincide with that time?

16 comments on “What’s Your Golden Time of Day?

  1. Pingback: Lesson 2: Nothing Good Happens After 3am | Siona says:

  2. I’m definitely a night person ~ always have been though circumstances such as jobs and a child prevented me from following my body’s natural inclination until the late 1990’s. Most of my writing is done after 10pm and often in the VERY early hours of a new day.

    I couldn’t help but giggle when you described putting a pillow between your legs and going back to sleep when you were in labor with your son. Great post!

    Like

    • Thanks dani! I fell asleep at 9pm last night, big mistake. I woke at midnight, and it is now almost 5am. Oh well, I’ll be sleeping later today I guess. I’m glad you enjoyed the post!

      Like

  3. Pingback: 6:00AM: the best hour of the day, or too close to your 3:00AM bedtime? | Just VKG

  4. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Early Bird or Night Owl? « The Chaotic Soul

  5. I was born at 10:25 p.m. and, while in years past I used to regularly be up that late, now I am usually asleep by then and wake around 6:00 or 7:00. I require a lot of sleep, and that’s just how it is. I’ve come to accept it. I’d say my “golden hour” is around 10:00 a.m. I finally feel like I’m just about functional, after half a pot of coffee. 😀

    Like

  6. I’m clearly a morning person. I love waking up just before the sunrise. Like you, one of the reasons is that I love the quiet. By 1pm I’m ready to take a long break by reading, watching TV, or even taking a nap. Despite the early hour I get up, I usually go to bed about 11pm. That could be why I may end up taking that nap in the middle of the day. 😉

    Like

    • Thanks for the response Glynis! Yes, I really need to start my days earlier…I do like it, I just can’t manage to get to sleep early enough. Maybe once hubby is back home I will sleep better.

      Like

  7. Fascinating! I was born in the morning, I think around 8am, and have always been a morning person! I don’t get up as early as I used to, but still feel that I should. So perhaps it is wired in! 🙂

    Like

Share Your Thoughts and Love!

